Friday, September 19, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "The Deception"

The Deception by Marquita Valentine
Publisher: Valentine Publishing, LLC (August 25, 2014)
Series: The Request, 2
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Roman Smith ~ Shopkeeper by day. Assassin by night.

Drugged and deposited in a hotel in Prague, Roman must be on guard at all times in order to protect his lover, Everly Andrews. But the countdown has begun and it won't stop until his next target, or Everly, is terminated.

Can Roman keep Everly safe, until he finds out who wants to her dead?



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Valentine's Previous Books:

Drive Me Crazy (Holland Springs, 1) -- TBQ
Driving to You (Holland Springs, 1.5) -- TBQ
His Christmas Wish (Holland Springs, 3.5) -- TBQ
Just Desserts (Holland Springs, 4) -- Pat + TBQ

Live For You (Boys of the South, 1) -- TBQ
Only For You (Boys of the South, 2) -- Pat + TBQ
All For You (Boys of the South, 2.5) -- Pat

The Request (#1) -- Pat

All The Right Moves -- Pat


Pat's Review:

Thursday, September 18, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "It's In His Kiss"

It's In His Kiss by Jill Shalvis
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (August 26, 2014)
Series: Lucky Harbor, 10
Genre: Contemporary Romance

ONE KISS CAN LAST FOREVER

Becca Thorpe has uprooted her life and escaped to the beach. Now's her chance to get away from city living, throw caution to the ocean winds, and live in the moment. Especially if the moment includes the deliciously sexy surfer she meets shortly after arriving in Lucky Harbor. Something about the dark intensity of Sam's eyes and the thrill she gets at his touch convinces her to stay awhile.

Boatbuilder and investment genius Sam Brody is a self-made man who knows how dangerous it can be to mix business and pleasure. But he can't resist offering Becca a job just to hear her laugh and have her near. Yet when her brother comes to town asking for help, will he tempt her back to her glamorous life in the city? Or do Sam and little Lucky Harbor have a chance to win Becca's heart?



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Shalvis' Previous Books:

Once in a Lifetime (#9) -- TBQ

Rumor Has It (#4) -- TBQ
Then Came You (#5) -- Pat + TBQ

Seeing Red (#3) -- Kame


Pat's Review:

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "Virtue Falls"

Virtue Falls by Christina Dodd
Publisher: St. Martin's Press (September 9, 2014)
Series: Virtue Falls, 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Twenty-three years ago, Misty Banner was brutally slashed to death in her home in Virtue Falls, Washington. Her husband was convicted of the murder. Their four year old daughter Elizabeth witnessed the crime, but has no memory of the killing. Now, two decades later, Elizabeth is back in Virtue Falls. She soon discovers her father is innocent. The real killer is still out there. And her investigation has stirred dark and deadly resentments that could provoke in another bloody murder—her own—in this riveting novel from bestselling author Christina Dodd.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of  Dodd's Previous Books:

Scent of Darkness (#1) -- TBQ
Touch of Darkness (#2) -- TBQ
Into the Shadow (#3) --TBQ


Pat's Review:

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

[Kame's Review]: "Not The Boss's Baby"

Not the Boss's Baby by Sarah M. Anderson
Publisher: Harlequin Desire (September 1, 2014)
Series: The Beaumont Heirs, 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance (Category)

What the boss wants...

As the oldest son, Chadwick Beaumont has sacrificed everything for the Beaumont's company, but he swore he'd never follow in his father's philandering footsteps. So, for years, he's dutifully kept his distance from the temptation outside his office door--his beautiful secretary Serena Chase.

But now everything has changed. The family business is in jeopardy. His personal life is in shambles. And his sexy assistant is suddenly single--and flirting. Chadwick is tired of doing what's expected. It's time for him to go after what he wants. And what he wants is Serena--even if she's expecting another man's child.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Anderson's Previous Books:

Straddling the Line (#1) -- TBQ
Bringing Home the Bachelor (#2) -- TBQ

Mystic Cowboy (#1) -- TBQ
Masked Cowboy (#2) -- Kame + TBQ
Nobody (#2) -- Kame + TBQ

What a Rancher Wants (#9) -- TBQ


Kame's Review:

[Blog Tour Spotlight]: "Facing the Music" Excerpt + Giveaway!


WELCOME TO THE BLOG, ANDREA! :) 






Andrea Laurence has been a lover of reading and writing stories since she learned to read at a young age. She always dreamed of seeing her work in print and is thrilled to finally be able to share her special blend of sensuality and dry, sarcastic humor with the world. A dedicated West Coast girl transplanted into the Deep South, she's working on her own "happily ever after" with her boyfriend and their collection of animals including a Siberian Husky that sheds like nobody's business.





Where to Find Andrea:






Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence 
Publisher: Pocket Star (September 15, 2014)
Genre: Contemporary Romance

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Monday, September 15, 2014

Harlequin's SO YOU THINK YOU CAN WRITE!



For one week only (Sept.15-19) Harlequin is hosting a free online writing conference. After completing the Harlequin writing boot camp, participants have the chance to submit a first chapter (5000 words max) and 100-word pitch to the series you have targeted starting September 22 - October 1 for a chance to win the Ultimate Author's Publishing Prize.



Prizing: One lucky writer will receive the Ultimate Author’s Publishing Prize from Harlequin. The grand prize winner will be offered a two-book series contract with the first book to be published digitally on or around Valentine’s Day 2015—print edition to follow. The winner will also celebrate success in style with a complimentary champagne dinner for two ($150 USD value).






Click here for itinerary of online conference aka Harlequin boot-camp events!


For complete rules and regulations, visit this link.



What a great opportunity! Do you have what it takes? :) Good luck to everyone who enters!



Enjoy!

Until Next Time

, Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

[Blog Tour Spotlight]: "Breaking His Rules" Excerpt + Giveaway!


WELCOME TO THE BLOG, AUTHOR! :) 





Originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, Alison now lives in Southern Nevada where she’s still getting used to the blistering summers and the slot machines in every grocery store. 

When not working at the day job that pays the bills, keeps a roof over her head, and supports her book and chocolate habits, Alison spends most of her free time writing. But when she takes a break, she enjoys reading, watching movies, and spending time with her family and friends.





Where to Find Author:




Breaking His Rules by Alison Packard
Publisher: Carina Press (September 8, 2014)
Series: Feeling the Heat, 4
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Losing fifty pounds is an incredible achievement. But for Melissa Atherton, progress doesn’t come with praise—a scathing comment from an evil cousin at a bridal shower threatens to crush her new self-esteem. Who will she bring to the upcoming wedding? Showing up without a date would be humiliating. It just isn’t an option.

Personal trainer Jake Sawyer was attracted to Melissa before she lost weight, but her progress has him floored. When she admits she plans to hire a male escort—and why—his heart all but breaks. Melissa’s come too far to be knocked down, especially by her own family. He’ll go as her date…and figure out a way to keep his hands to himself.

But when a steamy hotel room encounter takes them both by surprise, Jake balks. He’s sworn never to date one of his clients, not again. And Melissa can’t bear to be just friends with the man who treated her so tenderly, even if it was only for a weekend. Jake’s helped her see she’s strong enough to stand up for herself, but will she find the strength to pursue the only man who’s ever seen the real her?



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Packard's Previous Books:

Winning Season (#2) -- Kame
A Christmas for Carrie (#2.5) -- Kame
Catching Heat (#3) -- Kame

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Weekly Recap (32)



Every Sunday afternoon, I will post a "Weekly Recap" of everything that went up on the blog in the previous week. Reviews, guest posts giveaway, etc. This will provide quick access to anything you may have missed. I hope you enjoy!


September 8th - 14th: