Friday, October 31, 2014

[Kame's ARC Review]: "Pushing the Limit"

Pushing the Limit by Emmy Curtis
Publisher: Forever Yours (November 4, 2014)
Series: Alpha Ops, 2
Genre: Romantic Suspense


They’re tough. They’re brave. And they’ll do anything for the women they love. They’re the Alpha Ops. In the tradition of Suzanne Brockmann and Julie Ann Walker comes a sizzling new high-octane romantic suspense novel from rising star Emmy Curtis.

PUSHING THE LIMIT
After their one-night fling at a wedding, archaeologist Henrietta “Harry” Markowitz thought she’d never see war hero Matt Stanning again. So when they’re paired up to investigate a military plane crash in Iraq, she’s not sure if the three-month reunion is serendipitous or cursed. What she does know is this gorgeous man lights her body on fire—and incredible sex is always a welcome distraction.

Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning has been called a hero, but he feels nothing like one when he realizes the sexy blonde in his bed is the widow of his fallen brother-in-arms. Even worse, he actually has to work with her, and she’s unearthed evidence that points to a military conspiracy. If they dig deeper, they’ll put their lives in danger. If they don’t, they’ll never know the truth—not only about the mysterious plane crash, but about each other.



Where to Buy*:
Amazon | Kindle | BN | NOOK | ARe
More Info:
Reviews of Curtis' Previous Books:



Kame's Review:

Thursday, October 30, 2014

[Blog Tour Spotlight]: "Scandalous Summer Nights" + Giveaway!


WELCOME TO THE BLOG, ANNE! :) 





Anne Barton began swiping romance novels off her mom’s bookshelf as a teenager, so when she had the chance to spend a semester in London—home to her favorite heroes—she packed her bags and promptly fell in love with the city, its history, and its pubs. She dreamed of writing romance, but somehow ended up a software analyst instead.


Fortunately, a few years and a few careers later, Anne found her way back to writing the stories she loves and in 2011 won the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart for Regency Historical Romance. She lives in Maryland with her husband and three children, who try valiantly not to roll their eyes whenever she quotes Jane Austen. Her weaknesses include reality TV, cute-but-impractical shoes, and caffeinated beverages of all kinds.




Where to Find Anne:





Scandalous Summer Nights by Anne Barton
Publisher: Forever (October 28, 2014)
Series: Honeycote, 3
Genre: Historical Romance

HOW FAR WILL TEMPTATION TAKE HIM . . . 

Lady Olivia Sherbourne isn't shy about speaking her mind, except when it comes to James Averill. For ten long years he has been her brother's best friend and her heart's only desire. But when Olivia hears James will soon set sail for an expedition to Egypt, she knows the time has come to make her move. It's now or never . . . 

James has always found Olivia bewitchingly attractive, but what kind of gentleman takes up with his best friend's sister? Not that he's thinking particularly gentlemanly thoughts when she appears on his exploratory trip—three hundred miles from home!—and incites a tavern fight. No matter what the devil she's doing there, it's his duty to see her safely back to her family. But how safe will she be when every starlit night brings wicked temptation . . . ?



Where to Buy*:
Amazon | Kindle | BN | NOOK | ARe
More Info:

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "Light Her Fire"

Light Her Fire by Samanthe Beck
Publisher: Entangled: Brazen (October 20, 2014)
Series: Private Pleasures, 2
Genre: Contemporary Erotica/Romance


A sexy category romance from Entangled’s Brazen imprint… 

He’ll show this good girl the thrill of being bad… 

Good girl Melody Merritt is ready to be bad. Fresh out of an unsatisfying ten-year engagement to the town golden boy, she’s determined to make up for lost time. And who better to burn her sterling reputation to the ground than Bluelick’s sinfully sexy new fire chief whose wicked gaze promises complete and utter domination? Yes, please.

Corrupting the prim and proper Little Miss Bluelick is the most action Josh Bradley’s seen since he transferred from Cincinnati to fast-track his career. He won’t let anything or anyone—not even the delectable Melody Merritt—trap him in this Kentucky-fried Mayberry, but when their searing chemistry yields an unexpected result, he realizes he’s started a blaze that's completely beyond his control… 



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Pat's Review:

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "Need You Tonight"

Need You Tonight by Marquita Valentine
Publisher: Valentine Publishing, LLC (October 18, 2014)
Series: Boys of the South, 6
Genre: New Adult Contemporary


Take a trip down south and discover just how hot those sultry, southern nights can get with the Boys of the South series by New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author, Marquita Valentine. 

In small towns, dirty little secrets don’t remain secret for long… 

Everyone loves Parker Morgan, especially the high society ladies who pay thousands for his time. Becoming a male escort hadn’t been something Parker wanted to do, but when his family needed money to survive, he compromised everything he believed in to make ends meet. But there are two things he refuses to do—one, be paid for sex. Two, let himself fall for his beautiful new neighbor. She’s too pure and sweet for him. And that sadness in her eyes… he doesn’t want to know the cause of it. He has too many problems of his own. 

A war widow at only twenty-two, Brooklyn Reeves has lived a shadowed existence for two years. Desperate to start over, she moves to Forrestville, never dreaming her new neighbor would be so sexy—not that she wants a relationship of any kind with him. Besides, he’s completely hostile and rude anytime they run into one another. Unfortunately, he’s also her handyman, and she’s forced to repeatedly call on him when one thing after another goes wrong with her rental house. 

But as spring turns to summer, Brooklyn begins to sees a new side to Parker—one that makes her reconsider her opinion of him. Sparks fly, igniting a hunger that neither of them can resist. 

But are either of them prepared for the consequences, once Parker’s dirty little secret comes to light? 



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Valentine's Previous Books:

Drive Me Crazy (Holland Springs, 1) -- TBQ
Driving to You (Holland Springs, 1.5) -- TBQ
His Christmas Wish (Holland Springs, 3.5) -- TBQ
Just Desserts (Holland Springs, 4) -- Pat + TBQ

Live For You (Boys of the South, 1) -- TBQ
Only For You (Boys of the South, 2) -- Pat + TBQ
All For You (Boys of the South, 2.5) -- Pat

The Request (#1) -- Pat
The Deception (#2) -- Pat
The Confession (#3) -- Pat

All The Right Moves -- Pat


Pat's Review:

Release Day Blitz: "All Broke Down" + Giveaway!


WELCOME TO THE BLOG, CORA! :) 




Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.



Where to Find Cora:




All Broke Down by Cora Carmack
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (October 28, 2014)
Series: Rusk University, 2
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance

In this second book in New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack’s New Adult, Texas-set Rusk University series, which began with All Lined Up, a young woman discovers that you can’t only fight for what you believe in . . . sometimes you have to fight for what you love

Dylan fights for lost causes. Probably because she used to be one.

Environmental issues, civil rights, corrupt corporations, and politicians—you name it, she’s probably been involved in a protest. When her latest cause lands her in jail overnight, she meets Silas Moore. He’s in for a different kind of fighting. And though he’s arrogant and infuriating, she can’t help being fascinated with him. Yet another lost cause.

Football and trouble are the only things that have ever come naturally to Silas. And it’s trouble that lands him in a cell next to do-gooder Dylan. He’s met girls like her before—fixers, he calls them, desperate to heal the damage and make him into their ideal boyfriend. But he doesn’t think he’s broken, and he definitely doesn’t need a girlfriend trying to change him. Until, that is, his anger issues and rash decisions threaten the only thing he really cares about, his spot on the Rusk University football team. Dylan might just be the perfect girl to help.

Because Silas Moore needs some fixing after all.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Carmack's Previous Books:

All Lined Up (#1) -- TBQ

Monday, October 27, 2014

[Pat's Review]: "The Second Chance Hero"

The Second Chance Hero by Jeannie Moon
Publisher: InterMix (October 21, 2014)
Series: Forever Love, 4
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The eternal bachelor finally finds his match—if he can get her attention…

After her fiancĂ© dies in her arms in Afghanistan, combat nurse Kim Torres decides to get as far away from men and the war as she can. Now a nanny to a little girl, she’s trying to date again, but her heart just isn’t in it. Not even for a man as sexy as Owen Kent…

When Major Owen Kent returns from his deployment with the Marines in Afghanistan, he discovers how much things have really changed. The billionaire CIO’s friends are settling down and having families—things a serial dater like Owen doesn’t expect to do. But he’s also not expecting his friend Harper’s new nanny to be the woman who stole his heart half a world away. Kim may want nothing to do with Owen, but he’s not about to surrender without a fight. 



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Pat's Review:

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Weekly Recap (38)



Every Sunday afternoon, I will post a "Weekly Recap" of everything that went up on the blog in the previous week. Reviews, guest posts giveaway, etc. This will provide quick access to anything you may have missed. I hope you enjoy!


October 20th - 26th:

Lusting for Covers (200) + Giveaway!



Lusting for Covers is a weekly meme, held on Sunday, that allows bloggers to share their current cover obsession with fellow book lovers.

This meme is hosted by TBQ @ TBQ's Book Palace.

To view complete instructions on how to participate, as well as grab the HTML code for the graphic, see this page first!



Once you are ready to join the fun,

please fill out Mister Linky below with

your name/blog name and the direct

link to your Lusting for Covers for this

week!







Here's my candidate for the week: