Friday, October 31, 2014

[Kame's ARC Review]: "Pushing the Limit"

Pushing the Limit by Emmy Curtis
Publisher: Forever Yours (November 4, 2014)
Series: Alpha Ops, 2
Genre: Romantic Suspense


They’re tough. They’re brave. And they’ll do anything for the women they love. They’re the Alpha Ops. In the tradition of Suzanne Brockmann and Julie Ann Walker comes a sizzling new high-octane romantic suspense novel from rising star Emmy Curtis.

PUSHING THE LIMIT
After their one-night fling at a wedding, archaeologist Henrietta “Harry” Markowitz thought she’d never see war hero Matt Stanning again. So when they’re paired up to investigate a military plane crash in Iraq, she’s not sure if the three-month reunion is serendipitous or cursed. What she does know is this gorgeous man lights her body on fire—and incredible sex is always a welcome distraction.

Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning has been called a hero, but he feels nothing like one when he realizes the sexy blonde in his bed is the widow of his fallen brother-in-arms. Even worse, he actually has to work with her, and she’s unearthed evidence that points to a military conspiracy. If they dig deeper, they’ll put their lives in danger. If they don’t, they’ll never know the truth—not only about the mysterious plane crash, but about each other.



Where to Buy*:
Amazon | Kindle | BN | NOOK | ARe
More Info:
Reviews of Curtis' Previous Books:



Kame's Review:

A 4 1/2 Star read - another great part to the series


Seven years ago Harry's husband was killed in Iraq. Today she is a respected archeologist in Iraq and finds what she thinks is a piece of a military plane; not knowing what to do she calls a friend. That call brings Matt to the site. Soon they will realize they have more connection than a few stolen moments at a friend's wedding.  





He wanted nothing but to hold her in his arms, feel her naked body along the length of his, touch her all over. She’d been almost nude, but he still felt deprived of something much better. He sighed as she kissed her way up his stomach. Henrietta had turned him into a chick.”





I will be honest, Harry was not my favorite person in the last book in this series. I was unsure if I could enjoy a book with her as the heroine, well Emmy Curtis wrote her so wonderfully that she stole my heart. Harry does not see how broken she is until she sees herself through Matt's eyes. And what wonderful eyes does Matt have! He is stubborn, he is hunky, he is gentle and he is caring, and he is everything that Harry needs. I really enjoyed the two of them together and hope I get to see more of them in the future.




This isn’t going to be easy. I can tell you that now. I need to fix my head, fix my life.”

She looked deep into his eyes. “We’re both a little broken. But I don’t want to hide anymore. I want you in my life. However hard it is.”




The plot has twists and turns and kept me guessing at times. What I like best is that I have never read a plot quite like this, it was fresh and new but still dealt with traditional romantic suspense elements. I am being purposely vague because I want you to go "Wow" just like I did.


There are a group of men who are tied to Harry's past that are introduced at the end of the book that I would love to learn more about and see in future books. Notice I used plural - I want many more books in this series. Emmy Curtis has quickly turned into an auto read author for me.  


4 1/2 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Kame received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for her honest opinion.

*Note: The quotes used belong to Emmy Curtis; Kame and TBQ's Book Palace do not claim them.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Kame! :) 

Have you read Emmy Curtis yet? 

On Nov 5th, Kame and I will be interviewing Emmy, and I'll have a giveaway for her ebooks, too. Don't miss the fun!



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

1 comment :

  1. Hey, this sounds great. I love it when archeology plays a role and I am totally in when there's a military hero. Thanks, Kame!

    ReplyDelete

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com