Monday, December 22, 2014

[Kame's Review]: "A Cowboy's Christmas Promise"

A Cowboy's Christmas Promise by Maggie McGinnis
Publisher: Loveswept (November 18, 2014)
Genre: Contemporary Romance

In a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.

Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini tends the city’s pampered pets but dreams of the rural life of a country vet. She’s single and determined to stay that way, convinced that love isn’t permanent enough to trust. Then a vacation to the Whisper Creek dude ranch introduces her to Daniel McKee, a sexy single dad who runs the kind of veterinary practice she aspires to—and rattles her conviction to keep men at a distance.

Managing a thriving practice, coping with the loss of his wife, and fighting a custody battle with his in-laws over his twin daughters, Daniel couldn’t be more overwhelmed. Hayley is a godsend, accompanying him in the field and winning over his girls. It doesn’t take Daniel long to realize he’s falling for this woman, hard and fast. So before Hayley returns to Boston, he extracts a promise: that she will return to Whisper Creek for Christmas. It’s the perfect time and place to show Hayley that the promise of a beautiful life together is something she can believe in.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Kame's Review:


Got all your Holiday shopping, wrapping and baking done and want to just sit and relax with a good book? Well pick this one up.


Hayley longs for the Big Sky of Montana and the ranch her best friend now lives on. Her life in Boston is her small animal vet practice, and her commitment to no commitments. Daniel is trying to piece his and his twins daughters' lives back together after his wife's passing. He has no time for anything but the girls and his vet practice.


I enjoyed Hayley and Daniel and their instant attraction. I enjoyed the attempt at fighting that attraction.  What I enjoyed most was their time apart - which I know sounds weird, but it is a side of a relationship few authors give us. They sort of reminded me of my husband and myself when we were dating and lived 200 miles apart and only had phone calls and letters for weeks at a time.


But I must say my favorite part of the book was the twins - they are absolutely adorable and they truly enhanced scenes and at parts they were crucial to moving the plot.


The plot was easy to follow and all intimate scenes happen behind closed doors and are up to your imagination.


I have come to enjoy these characters and I hope there is a book for Cole real soon!


4 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Kame received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for her honest opinion.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Kame! :) It does sound like a lovely book to relax with during the crazy holiday season.



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

1 comment :

  1. It does sound heartwarming with the girls, the animal practice and the sweet romance. The distance and time apart does make it a more realistic scenario. Nice review, Kame!

    ReplyDelete

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com