Friday, May 8, 2015

[Kame's Review]: "Rush"

Rush by Gina Gordon 
Publisher: Loveswept (May 12, 2015)
Genre: Contemporary Romance

In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things.

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Kame's Review:


Everly had a bucket list given to her by her grandmother who left strict orders in her will to have that list done by the time she finished law school. With just a few months left Everly decides that knocking the first off - "Go out with someone you'd never give the time of day" - with Max Levin is the best way to start.


I am not sure how this book landed on my Kindle - as Max's job in adult entertainment industry would normally be a turn off for me. However just like Everly in the book; I realized Max was more than his job and honestly I started to like him and on some level feel for him. His want to help Everly is what kept me reading. Everly is a young woman who has always let her parents rule her life - not an uncommon trait in many of today's contemporary romances - and especially not in NA books. Her insecurities sometimes got annoying and her growth as a character was limited. It was really Max that kept me reading.


The plot at times was drawn out, and other times speed up that I questioned the timeline. The conflict between Max and Everly was somewhat expected. The reunion was nice, but the epilogue left me a little wanting.


I am thinking this might be the first in a series of books. I am not normally a reader of NA - and depending on who the next couple is I might pass. I will say I got tired of the porn references - and at times would just skim past the scenes when Max was at work; so if the next book continues to have characters employed by Max's father's company I will definitely pass.


I would definitely check out other books from this author as I enjoyed her writing - just not the setting as much.


3 1/2 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Kame received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for her honest opinion.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Kame! :) 

Has that happened to you before? Liking the writing, but perhaps not the setting?



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

1 comment :

  1. Yes, I've struggled with many aspects of a story even if I acknowledge that the writing is strong. I've read a few of Amy Lane's m/m books that were set in and around a porn studio. I was uncomfortable at first, but I did love the characters. I have similar reactions when the setting is a strip bar, brothel, or even call girl/gigolo situations, but the story and characters pulled it through for me.

    I was disappointed in a heroine in my last book too, Kame. She didn't grow until about 80% along and even then it wasn't much.

    ReplyDelete

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com