Wednesday, June 18, 2014

[ARC Review]: "The Saint"

The Saint by Tiffany Reisz
Publisher: Harlequin MIRA (June 24, 2014)
Series: The Original Sinners, 5
Genre: Dark Erotica -- Contemporary

In the beginning, there was him. 

Gutsy, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn't want to break. She's sick of her mother's zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she'll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Søren Stearns and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Suddenly, daily Mass seems like a reward, and her punishment is the ache she feels when they're apart. He is intelligent and insightful and he seems to know her intimately at her very core. Eleanor is consumed—and even she knows that can't be right. 

But when one desperate mistake nearly costs Eleanor everything, it is Søren who steps in to save her. She vows to repay him with complete obedience…and a whole world opens before her as he reveals to her his deepest secrets. 

Danger can be managed—pain, welcomed. Everything is about to begin.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Reviews of Previous Books by Reisz:

The Prince (3) -- TBQ

Misbehaving -- TBQ


My Review:



There are very few authors that can rip my heart out and grind it into dust many times throughout the course of a single book. Reisz does this to me. Every. Single. Time.



Truly, there is no way to sum up or explain the Original Sinners' books. They simply have to be experienced first hand in order to understand. And, as I've said many times before, her books will not appeal to everyone. If you want to try something new and fall head long into a crazy intense world, Reisz is the author you should turn to.



The Saint tells the story of Nora's early years as she first meets Soren. It's a very powerful story and one that I couldn't put down. Intense emotions, dark secrets, and addictive temptations abound!



I've come to realize something. In the hands of any other author, such a story would disturb me, I think. Such characters would annoy me, probably even disgust me. I might even throw the book against the wall.



But this is Tiffany Reisz, and I trust her completely. Even as I cringe at a particularly extreme scene, I crave more. She writes crack, and it's the best damn crack ever. Well-written, so complex and smart and witty and more addicting than drugs. I'll never grow tired of these books, or Nora's wit and sarcasm. Never.



Nora is such a strong, unique woman. I've loved her character from book 1. The things that come out of her mouth at times . . . Pure genius!





“Are you going to tell me where you applied?”

“University of Nona Ya. University of Mind Your Own. University of Not-tellin;. Big Secret College. And St. Stayout-of-it Technical College.”

“Interesting choices.”

“The University of Not-Tellin' is my safety school.”




For fans of The Original Sinners, The Saint will make you fall in love with this world all over again. But then again, Reisz manages to do this with every new release. Needless to say, I am a very happy addict!


4 1/2 STARS! 

~ * ~ * ~

I received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.

*Note: The quote used belongs to Tiffany Reisz; TBQ's Book Palace does not claim it.

~ * ~ * ~


Are you a Reisz addict, too? Are you interested in trying her books? 

Is there an author that you trust completely, one that you call your "crack dealer"? :) 




Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

5 comments :

  1. Looks like a very entertaining and engaging book! thanks for the review ... you leave me eager to read it :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ah, thanks, celeste! I hope if you read Reisz, you enjoy her books!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I cannot wait to read this and she does write crack...lols. #lovethat ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Exactly! :) Those who know her work know that what I mean.


    A bit off subject, but I had a fun time the other day trying to explain to a friend, who doesn't read romance or chat online about it much, what "book crack" is. She kept asking me "Why call it crack? Why not ecstasy or another drug name? Why crack? When I hear crack I think of a$$ first" LOL


    Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  5. LOLS! !!! That's too funny ;)

    No prob at all

    ReplyDelete

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com