Wednesday, May 3, 2017

[Pat's Review]: "Making Waves"

romance novel covers, contemporary romance, Royal Pick, Making Waves by Laura Moore
Making Waves by Laura Moore
Publisher: Ballantine Books (April 25, 2017)
Series: Beach Lane, 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance


A self-made woman with a sweet, successful life discovers that even the best-laid plans are no match for unexpected passion in the beginning of a brand-new series for fans of Julie James and Tracy Brogan.

As the responsible daughter of an irresponsible socialite, Dakota Hale has plenty of practice catering to the whims of the rich and spoiled and she's turned that experience into a thriving concierge business serving the needs of the Hamptons' wealthy elite. But living and working among the upper crust has never tempted Dakota to follow in her mother's jet-setting footsteps. Anytime the drama on land gets too outrageous, Dakota finds calm surfing the Atlantic waves. But when sexy mogul Max Carr hires her, it rocks her balance in a big way.

Max works hard, but he's never had to put any effort into winning over a woman until now. With her stunning beauty and keen intelligence, Dakota is worth the effort. But it is plain she has no interest in a casual fling, and that's all Max with his grief-stricken heart can offer. But one fraught night changes everything, with consequences neither Dakota nor Max anticipated. Now they must navigate the rough waters of society gossip and devastating secrets that threaten their fragile relationship. If they can trust in the strength of their growing feelings, they'll find that the dreams they've been chasing are close enough to embrace . . . together.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Pat's Review:



This is a very romantic, emotional story. The characters are honest and strong, and I liked Dakota Hale from the first page. Max took some getting used to. They both pulled me into this story and never let go.



Dakota Hale was raised by a social butterfly mom, Piper, and her very mean spirited sister, Mimi. Dysfunction does not accurately describe her family. Actually, Dakota pretty much raised herself and Piper along the way. Her joys in life are her business -- Premier Service, a personal concierge service in the Hamptons for wealthy clients -- and surfing. Dakota found that surfing was the one place  her time and thoughts were totally her own, winter or summer. She feels very close to most of her clients, and a couple that she knows well recommended her to a new client moving into a "cottage" called Windhaven. Ironically, it was her family home for many years, but was sold to cover some expenses by her uncle. Piper and Mimi are enraged. Wait till Dakota tells them she took the job!



Max Carr is a well-know, successful business man who fell in love with Windhaven. He is known for his brilliant financial moves and his playboy ways. He never misleads women, always upfront about what he wants. A past heartbreak has hardened him for romance. Max hires Dakota for an extensive makeover of Windhaven, and quickly realizes how talented she is, not to mention gorgeous. The sparks fly, for both of them. Dakota doesn't have time for romance, Max avoids it at all costs. So what harm is a little no strings affair? Max comes to depend on her, not just as a talented concierge, but as a friend and lover. Dakota teaches him to surf, her private joy, and he comes to love it as well. Max feels much more than he wants to, so what else is there to do..........leave. But love and strings are pulling him back.



I have enjoyed all Ms. Moore's books, this one has found a special place in my heart. Dakota is strong, loving and forgiving, even with a broken heart. She loves Max, but values her independence. Wonderful start to a new series, and I'm anxious for the next story.



5 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Pat received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Pat!


Remember, since this is a Royal Pick, come back on May 25th for a chance to WIN an ecopy of your own!



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

No comments :

Post a Comment

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com