Wednesday, March 18, 2015

[Pat's Review]: "Fireflies and Magnolias"

Fireflies and Magnolias by Ava Miles
Publisher: Ava Miles Inc. (February 24, 2015)
Series: Dare River, 3
Genre: Contemporary Romance

From USA Today Bestselling Author Ava Miles of the #1 National Bestseller NORA ROBERTS LAND comes an emotional, heartwarming romance with a touch of magic and mystery—perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Mallery. 

"Ava's story is witty and charming." Barbara Freethy #1 NYT bestselling author on Nora Roberts Land 

Amelia Ann Hollins might have been raised to be a sweet magnolia, but she’s found her inner fire—the quest for justice. The secrets she carries and a tragedy from her past prompt her to volunteer at a legal clinic in the worst part of town. Here she can serve and protect the one she couldn’t save. Here she will risk everything. 

Clayton Chandler’s happy life ended when his daddy died tragically when he was a boy. He lost his belief in magic and signs, but Amelia Ann is stirring the embers of passion and faith inside him again. He doesn’t plan on risking his heart. To make matters worse, he works for her rock star brother and knows better than to date the younger sister of his best friend. 
When Amelia Ann volunteers to help with her brother’s charity concert, Clayton has nowhere to run. Soon he can no longer deny his fiery passion for Amelia Ann, and as the danger of her calling and her secrets threaten their newfound love, they’ll learn fireflies are magical and magnolias can burn hotter than steel. (love story, contemporary romance, alpha males, heroes, billionaire, romance, family, falling in love, sweet romance) 

Author's Note: All books can easily be read as stand-alone stories. 



Where to Buy*:
More Info:

Reviews of Miles's Previous Books:

The Chocolate Garden (#2) -- Pat

The Perfect Ingredients (#7) -- Pat


Pat's Review:

Ms. Miles newest novel in the Dare River Series, is a joy to read. Full of southern charm, families, love and mistrust. It also has a little magic to warm your heart.


Amelia Ann Hollins is a young woman attending law school, and volunteering at women's shelters in her off time. It's a cause very close to her heart after learning of her sister's years of abuse from her very wealthy and well known husband. Her sister is doing well now, in love with the perfect man for her and her children. Amelia Ann has been in love with a man forever, but he keeps her at arms length for reasons she cannot accept.  She tries her best to flirt and torture him at every turn.


Clayton Curtis is her brother's (Rye Crenshaw)  best friend and manager of his country singing career, which is skyrocketing. He sees Amelia Ann as a serious temptation, but she is his best friend and boss's baby sister. She's still in law school, which he finished years ago. He's having a harder and harder time convincing himself she is off limits. They are working together for a charity concert that is going to do him in. A late night rescue of Amelia Ann in a dangerous situation breaks down the walls.  He can't fight her anymore, and realizes he is in love with her. But a secret Amelia Ann has been keeping can ruin it all.


Clayton was gorgeous with a big heart, but at times I wanted to shake some sense into him! His heart was broken once, a betrayal he can't forget and he is unwilling to give his heart again, until he has no choice.    The Dare River and Dare Valley stories are such enjoyable novels with real characters and situations.  I'm looking forward to Jake and Susanna's story.


5 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Pat received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for her honest opinion.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Pat! :) I do love Ava's covers, they're so pretty. 

Have you read Ava Miles? Do you have a favorite of hers?

Remember, since this is a Royal Pick, come back on Mar 26th for a chance to WIN an ecopy of your own!



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

1 comment :

  1. Great review! I don't have this book but I've got a couple others by this author. I've been hearing good things about her. Moving the ones I have to the top of my TBR.

    ReplyDelete

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com