Friday, August 14, 2015

[Kame's Review]: "Laid Out"

Laid Out by Sidney Halston
Publisher: Loveswept (August 18, 2015)
Series: Worth the Fight, 4
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and Cecy Robson, Sidney Halston’s scorching new MMA romance proves there are no holds barred when it comes to seduction.
  
Growing up an Army brat, Violet Channing could never meet her dad’s high expectations. But in the eyes of her best friend, she could do no wrong. He even insisted that he should be her first kiss. Now Cain Sorensen is all grown up, hardened by years in special ops and always looking for a good fight. Tall, with striking blue eyes and impossibly blond hair, he’s a modern-day Viking warrior. Of course, Violet’s all grown up, too, and she’s ready to surrender to his every command.

Cain knows he’s bad for Violet. His work is dangerous, and his hobbies are downright deadly. As a private mercenary and a mixed martial arts fighter, he could never let such an innocent soul into his world. And yet his most grueling combat training is no match for Violet’s killer curves, hot touch, and suggestive glances. Now all of Cain’s most explosive fantasies are coming true—but once they cross the line between friends and lovers, there’s no turning back.



Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Kame's Review:



Cain is a man of few words. The pain he hides is one that is hard to imagine. Violet is a friend from his past that holds the key to him moving forward.


This is one series where I truly enjoy all the characters and I am thoroughly thrilled when we see them in other books in the series. It was even more important in this book as the plot was a challenge for me. Cain and Violet circle around their feelings and much of this book is each of the dealing with guilt for those feelings. So much so that their actual happiness - where you feel like they are together and will have an HEA - is such a small part of this book.


The climax during the conflict that tore them apart was heart wrenching and I wanted to cry right along with the character in pain.


These books are not cookie cutter plots and I truly enjoy the eclectic group so much that I will be looking for the next book.


4 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Kame received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for her honest opinion.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Kame! 

Have you read Sidney Halston? Do you have a favorite of hers?



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

No comments :

Post a Comment

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com