Thursday, September 24, 2015

[Kame's Review]: "Breaking a Legend"

Breaking a Legend by Sarah Robinson
Publisher: Loveswept (September 29, 2015)
Series: Kavanagh Legends, 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts. 

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.




Where to Buy*:
More Info:


Kame's Review:


Clare thinks a little area of the Bronx is the perfect place to become invisible. She needs to just blend in and prepare herself for when her ex finds her. She walks into Legends seeking self-defense classes and in the end she finds a safety net she never could imagine.


After Clare's issues are revealed I can imagine how she felt a cross country move was her best option. It took time for all the parts of her past started to line up and when they finally did you could understand why she had mixed feelings about her relationship with Rory.  I truly enjoyed Rory and his large Irish family.  He peppered his words with Irish, which sort of made me melt. He had a softer side to his boxing persona that he let very few see and that was wonderful too.  Their relationship had a good progression, as I tend to enjoy books that don't have character immediately falling for each other and into bed.


I enjoyed the plot of this book. It wasn't filled with twists and turns, it was very relatable. However, it was light on details and some things seemed to be dealt with too easily and too cleanly. For example Rory had a challenge he overcame in this book.  To me he worked through this too easily. He had no struggles, no real moments where it was hard. I missed the battle. This challenge and his conquering was meant to show the influence Clare had on his life and how much he cared for her to take on this challenge.  I believe showing the hardship of the change he made in his life would best convey how significance he put on Clare in his life. To me it read more like this challenge was as easy to over come as changing your shoes.  This was not the only detail glossed over and simply dealt with, but the one that bothered me the most.


Under these issues was a cast of characters that are as varied as they are similar.  A large Irish family in the Bronx, and their small neighborhood seems like a interesting place to visit. Also a wonderful playground for lots of stories to come.  For this reason I am looking forward to the next book in this series.


3 1/2 STARS! 


~ * ~ * ~

Kame received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for her honest opinion.

~ * ~ * ~



Thanks for the review, Kame! :)

Have you read Sarah Robinson?



Enjoy!


Until Next Time,


Photobucket

  *TBQ's Book Palace is a member of both the Amazon and Barnes and Nobles affiliates program. By using the links provided to buy products from either website, I receive a very small percentage of the order. To read my full disclosure on the matter, please see this post!

No comments :

Post a Comment

This is an award free blog. Leaving comments and sharing your opinion with me is more than enough of an award. :)

Sharing is caring--what are your thoughts on this post?

If you are having problems or need to contact me directly, email me: The_Book_Queen[at]yahoo.com